Summer Siren, Josh Zandman

NYC  sounds like summer.

As soon as the song starts, it sounds like a perfect summer song. It sounds like one of those timeless hit songs that you learn in the sun, one of those songs that you hear everywhere all summer long, so many times that it conjures up endless golden days when you hear it in any other season during the year.

The guitar part has a yearning and, I don’t know, what makes a song sound like summer? It’s got to be poppy, it’s got to have that ache.

Turns out I’m spot on. As I listened to the song I started to write, and after a bit I read Josh’s description of what the tune is about:

NYC is about returning home and remembering a summer romance that changed my life.”

I remember that summer. Do you?

Josh Zandman lives in NYC and you can find out more of his music by clicking on his photo.

I like this picture a lot. It’s bright, yet washed out. Memories, like long golden summer days, fade away, no matter how much we want them to stay. Immortalizing memories in music may be the very best way to hang on to them.

I haven’t heard any music from Josh in a while—I’m having a hard time writing while that guitar line is playing, so hooky, so poppy . . . so irresistible.

I’m really happy Josh Zandman uploaded to the Sirenstories Soundcloud, it’s been too long since I’ve heard his music. You’ll be glad to know that there are four more songs posted on Josh’s site. They’re just as good as this one.

Josh, if you read this post, tell me, what was the name of that song I was so in love with years ago in another life?

And that’s it today, Josh’s song is enough, and I’m running on 5 hours of sleep. Hope to see you here tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

