And on the 7th day of Sirenstories . . .

I heard Canadian Winds, a beautiful song by Steve Kunzman that made me cry.

It’s only moonbeams
That shine through your window
It’s only sunlight
Puts stars in your eyes
I will always be here
Wherever you travel
Wherever you travel
Wherever you roam

You brighten the days that
Are covered in rain clouds
And warm up the days filled
With Canadian Winds
The scent of the water
That runs down from High Bridge
Helps me remember
The stories you told

Keep in your pocket
A map you can follow
Of dreams that lead you
To places unknown
The moon and the sun will
Be there to guide you
Be there to guide you
When you want to come home

When the North Wind blows
And the River runs cold
We can sit by the fire
Chip curled at your feet
And talk over old times for hours
Talk over old times
Talk over old times

The moon and the sun will
Be there to guide you
Be there to guide you
When you want to come home
When you want to come home

I don’t know if it was before or after I read what Steve wrote about his song that I started crying.

“My children are off to college and beyond. This is a song to them from my future aged self.”

Steve and I became friends at a workshop led by Rosanne Cash that she called The Essence of Songwriting. Years later I had the honor of singing harmony on one of Steve’s songs for his CD Find the Moon.

Click on Steve’s pic to learn more about him and his music.

Steve’s wife Jane Kunzman painted the painting on the cover of Find the Moon. Jane’s such a wonderful painter, I wanted to share something of hers as well.

 

 

Jane told me, “The pear painting is a family portrait. The six of us.”

In Steve’s words, Canadian Wind “is on my folkier side—somewhat of a lullaby—just me and my guitar. My other music is folk/country/blues- sort of.”

His other music is a lot of things, including really good. I hope you check out his site. Enjoy.

7 responses to “And on the 7th day of Sirenstories . . .

  1. I am honored to currently be in a band with Steve. I had see one of his gigs a while back, and I guess fate (and mutual contacts) brought us together. Looking forward to playing some of his original material, adding harmonies, etc., in a live situation. Find The Moon is an awesome CD that went straight to my iPod!

  2. i first heard Steve sing 32 years ago in a Vermont pub “South Royalton House.” …. i have not yet recovered. love love love this song and “Wake Me”

Leave a Reply

