Siren Number 9, Number 9, Number 9 . . . is Catrin Hol

To celebrate the 9th day of Sirenstories I’d like to introduce you to Catrin Hol from Cork, Ireland.

Catrin’s lovely voice is bare and without effect in this honest recording of her song, Endgame Checkmate.

I think Catrin Hol is the bravest of our Sirens so far, take a look at what she says about Endgame Checkmate:

“For this song, I used a few pre-written lyrics as a starter, and improvised the rest in front of the mic, so this is a one-take recording. As such, it’s a bit rough around the edges, but I like it anyway, and hope you do too. Although it is sad . . . ”

The other day somebody told me that one of the reasons people like to go out to hear live music is because people like to watch other people being brave. I’d love to know what you think about that comment, Listeners.

If you’re wondering why Catrin recorded and posted a song that may be considered by some as unfinished, I can tell you that she also wrote this about Endgame Checkmate:

“This is one of 14 songs written and demoed this February, for FAWM (February Album Writing Month). I only had 3 weekends to write and record in, so the pressure was on.”

I’ve never done FAWM, and like NaNoWriMo I think it’s a brilliant idea! For me, any parameter helps me write faster, and maybe better. Next February I—no, I don’t think so. I’ll be busy with Sirenstories, and hopefully another writing project . . . but February 2013 I’ll be there! Expect my CD in the spring of 2013. Gasp. I said it :) Thanks for the inspiration Catrin!

As far as whether or not Endgame Checkmate (a wonderful title) is finished, I guess that’s for Catrin Hol to say. No one is going to receive any negative feedback from me, if I post a song it’s because I hear something good about it, something I like. Also I believe that part of writing a song is sharing it, and Sirenstories is a place to share.

That said, I would LOVE to see every word in Endgame Checkmate turned over and over like a stone in Catrin’s hand until the lines of the song became so polished, they gleamed. Not because it would necessarily make the tune better (no judgement here) but because I would be fascinated to hear what happened.

Meanwhile I’ll keep loving the chorus to Endgame Checkmate.

4 responses to “Siren Number 9, Number 9, Number 9 . . . is Catrin Hol

  1. A beautiful song. Is it finished? Yes. Sometimes raw and rough is exactly what’s needed. Here, it feels less like a performace than a message in a bottle or a face-to-face encounter where the other person isn’t allowed to respond. Wonderful and, like you said, brave.

  2. Thank you for your kind words, Susan … it does feel a bit risky to post such a raw track, but I’m so glad I did.

    I’m very grateful to Mimi for her support to artists like myself, and I love her concept of posting a different track each day for a year.

    Yes, I’m working on my debut album … and am dealing with the steep (but delightful) learning curve of at last having my own home studio!

  3. What a beautiful voice! There is innocence and wisdom, real earnest in your voice. I love that this is just one take – I think the fact that this track is not polished attributes to it’s charm…

Leave a Reply

