Americana Siren

The opening chords of Corey Koehler‘s country tinged folk rock song Take this Ring immediately made me think of 6th Avenue Heartache by The Wallflowers. For me, that’s a good thing. I love The Wallflowers’ 1996 album Bringing Down the Horse.

The lyrics of this Minnesota Man’s song are pure romance:

Walking through my life with half a smile on my face
Standing all alone with my shadow
Trying real hard not to open doors to more empty space
Wondering will I get some fire to light my way

Then I saw you there with a smile on your face & a spark in your eye
And now I’m standing here cuz I know I can’t let you go

Take, Take this ring and be mine for evermore
Be the beat of my heart and my sunshine when its grey
All I need is you like the birds need the sky
To spread their wings and fly away

Just take this ring my love

Since we met I don’t want to spend a second without you
You make me laugh and your always quick with a compliment
When we’re apart, I get goosebumps just thinking about you
I crave your touch, it makes me feel so alive

Now I see you there with a smile on your face & a spark in your eye
And now I’m standing here cuz I know I can’t let you go

Take, Take this ring and be mine for evermore
Be the beat of my heart and my sunshine when its grey
All I need is you like the birds need the sky
To spread their wings and fly away

Just take this ring my love

I want to see you there, every morning when I wake up and I open my eyes
And when I lay down at night I want to hold you till I drift away

Take, Take this ring and be mine for evermore
Be the beat of my heart and my sunshine when its grey
All I need is you like the birds need the sky
To spread their wings and fly away

Just take this ring my love

Corey Koehler shows his sense of humor when he describes his music:

“Some say it’s Americana, some say it’s Folk Rock, some say it’s Country, and some say just makes beer taste better.”

What do you think?

Corey says Take This Ring is about “The romantic, heartfelt realization of how much one person means to you that Will Melt Your Heart Like Chocolate In The Sun.”

(Ooh! He said chocolate!)

“Also, this song was a wedding gift to my uncle and his bride. It made their day even more memorable. I wanted to capture the feelings and thoughts that race through your head at that moment you realize how in love you are with someone and know you want to spend the rest of your life with that one person I hope this song will help you relive that special moment in your life over and over.”

To hear more of Corey Koehler‘s music and learn more about him, click on his picture and visit his website.

And don’t forget to let us know if his music makes your beverage of choice taste better, it is Friday after all.

Leave a Reply

