Never The Bride, Always the Siren

I’m not going to get super personal, but I want to explain why I haven’t been posting music lately. It’s because I’ve been overwhelmed.

Things have been very intense around here. As some of you know, Irene created a landslide in front of our home, and although our house isn’t in danger at this point, we have to do something or we’ll probably lose part of our yard. We can no longer go into the garden, or our gazebo, which hangs precariously on the edge of the cliff. The gazebo is from the 1930’s. My husband and I got married in it. Let’s not look for a sign. I’m debating posting pictures.

We’ve had engineers and FEMA and lots of other people climbing around on the cliff/hill this week. Some of our neighbors are having similar problems so people are talk, talk, talking and the phone’s been ringing off the hook.
Meanwhile, #MySonIs5 started school this week, Kindergarden, so my emotions have run high. And although I’m thrilled I’ll supposedly be getting more writing time, with all the extra school mommy stuff, so far, I’ve only seen a few extra hours.
It’s amazing how #MySonIs5 starting school has brought out the wicked perfectionist part of my personality. I think I bought him three different pairs of boots this week. One of them will fit just right. I thought I had eradicated Miss Perfection long ago through yoga practice so I’m disappointed to see her around. Ugh.

I’m tired, so tired I don’t want to keep fighting that feeling. I want to embrace it. I think it will be easier, right? To just fall into the feeling. So today I’m posting Gotta Get Back from Never The BrideNikki Lamborn‘s voice sounds exactly how I feel. Worn.

The big difference is that Nikki Lamborn‘s voice sounds worn in a good way, like old Rolling Stones worn, like Torn and Frayed  worn. Like your favorite and most comfortable jeans worn.

I almost want to hear a rougher production here, something broken, something stumbling, but the production on Gotta Get Back is perfect, and Never The Bride is a better band because of that. The crystal clear sound and well thought out rock production really does support Nikki Lamborn perfectly. I can tell she must be a strong woman, Never The Bride is a rock band with history, but if she had to let it all go, if she had to lean, or even collapse, this band would catch her.

I could say a lot more about Never The Bride and Gotta Get Back, but check this out:

Roger Daltrey of The Who: described Bristol-born Nikki Lamborn as “The best rock voice since Janis Joplin.”

Enough said.

Except for one more thing. If you love Melissa Etheridge, you’ll love Never The Bride and the classic rock sound of Gotta Get Back.

Click on the pics to go to Never The Bride‘s various web pages.

Bob Harris, BBC Radio 2: Never The Bride: “An absolutely brilliant band, one of the best live bands in Britain.”

By the way, that’s Nikki at the top of the post, not me. I feel a lot better now. Thanks for listening.

And special thanks to Never The Bride for uploading their song to the Sirenstories SoundCloud.

If you want to submit one of your songs to Sirenstories, go to SoundCloud.com and join the Sirenstories group. Then share a song with the group. I’ll do the rest.

3 responses to “Never The Bride, Always the Siren

  1. Pingback: Sirenstories (September 2011) | Never The Bride

Leave a Reply

