Last Hour Battle’s White Bear

From what I understand, white bear syndrome is a branch of the OCD tree.  A therapist I once shared office space with when I was a music teacher at a high school for at risk teens, told me that all musicians have OCD. Um.

I hear a bit of the Red Hot Chili Peppers in some of Last Battle‘s angular instrumental lines and their vocals have a slightly raw sound; imagine a younger, poppier Eddie Vedder. Imagine if Pearl Jam was a boy band whose members hooked up with a progressive rock guitarist then rubbed sandpaper on their sound—rubbed it the right way and scraped it up just right.

The Philadelphia based band says, “The white bear syndrome is when unwanted thoughts pop into your head and it’s extremely difficult to stop the never-ending cycle of thinking these negative thoughts.”

Not that I’ve ever had that. Happen. Ah, ever. You? Didn’t think so.

White Bear

How was I supposed to know that everything you said 
Were all the lies you breathed in 
How was I supposed to know 
that everyone is dead 
As the dream we lived in

it’s no surprise 
We’re running out of time 
All I had I offered 
Just so you would 
it’s no surprise 
We’re running out of time 
All I had I offered 
Just so you would break me

How was I supposed to know that everyone is dead 
From the lies they bath in 
How was I supposed to show 
To a closed down skeptic who’s sinking into the night 
That it’s all the same 
That it’s all the same 
Your mind’s playing games 
Your mind’s playing games

it’s no surprise 
We’re running out of time 
All I had I offered 
Just so you would 
it’s no surprise 
We’re running out of time 
All I had I offered 
Just so you would break me

If these walls surrounding 
Are the thoughts of new life 
Then without a creak 
without a whisper 
I will not speak 
Would only listen

It’s no surprise 
We’re running out of time 
All I had I offered 
Just so you would break 
It’s no surprise 
We’re running out of time 
All I had I offered 
Just so you would break me

Love the sparse beginning of White Bear and the semi whispered vocal. The chorus is a real hook, and profound.

It’s no surprise we’re running out of time . . .

I look forward to listening to more of Last Hour Battle. Click on the link and you can do just that.

Oh and feel to leave a comment. Are all musicians OCD? How about writers?


Leave a Reply

