Leave Me Alone

I want you to go away and leave me alone.

How can you not love a song that starts with a line like that?

I haven’t heard any new lounge music in a while so it was a pleasant surprise to find Leave Me Alone from Yan Terrien in the Sirenstories SoundCloud.

If you know anything about me and my other Sirenstories project, you know I’m a huge fan of young adult literature. I read a ton of it.  I love the constantly conflicting emotions, all the ‘touch me don’t touch me’ stuff that goes on, and the ‘I’m no good for you, we can’t see each other’ theme. The ‘I’m no good for you’ theme is especially fun, because while in the past it was, ‘I’m no good for you because I’m

a.) from another class

b.) a tortured artist

c.) an underdog of some sort

d.) going off to war

these days we have so much more to choose from! Today, it’s ‘I’m not good for you’ because I’m

a.) a Vampire, Werewolf, Angel, Fallen Angel, part Devil, or of course my personal favorite, a Siren

b.) from another planet

c.) the son of a man who is trying to destroy the world, or has already

d.) sitting on the opposite side of the cafeteria, i.e., I’m a jock and you’re a band geek, nerd, etc. and our friends hate each other.

My favorite song that does what Yan Terrien‘s song does is Missing you, by John Waite. Over and over Waite insists he’s not missing a certain someone, but meanwhile he writes one of the best kick ass love songs filled with yearning that you’ve ever heard and sings the hell out of. Yan Terrien‘s approach is a bit more laid back, but the idea is the same. On Leave Me Alone, Terrien mirrors Waite’s technique of repeating certain lines over and over. Terrien‘s spoken vocal is percussive and his French accent adds a measure of sophistication that makes lines like, “Get the hell out of my life” sound that much better.

Leave Me Alone made me think of just how many great songs and books and movies are devoted to the art of breaking up and making up. I’d love to know your favorite, it’s Valentine’s Day after all.

If you’ve read my blog before, you may know that if an artist doesn’t include a bio or lyrics or links when he uploads his song to the Sirenstories SoundCloud, I go snooping. It’s one of the reasons these posts can take such a long time for me to write, (which is my excuse for posting less than I promised) but it’s also fun.

To me, the most interesting piece of information I found about Yan Terrien, self-employed software developer, was this:

Software creation : Neengers, Laser Harp (for Jean Michel Jarre), PIGI for ETC (giant slide projectors).

Whoa. Laser Harp!?! For Jean Michel Jarre?! That’s so cool. Like Yan Terrien‘s music.

So there you go Valentines, I hope you have a kissy day.

4 responses to “Leave Me Alone

  1. Thank you Mimi,

    As I said to you in a previous message, I don’t claim to be a singer, but it is true that I regret not having had an artist’s life, and now that I did a big part of my life job (4 grown up chidren), I sometimes sing in front of my computer.
    Two years ago, I was looking for words for a song and I found on internet a blog where a man had put his poems.
    I wrote some songs with his words and “Leave Me Alone is one of these.
    I had to change the poem just a little bit to fit the music.
    The man is called Nick Searles and the original poem is here : http://timehasnotime.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/one-mans-problem/

    ;-))

    Yan

    • Thanks so much for the note Yan.

      It seems to me that you are having an artist’s life at this point . . . I personally think your choice of putting your family life first was a wise one.

      Thank you again for sharing the song with Sirenstories.

  2. Hi Mimi,

    That song you like by Tan Terrian; well I kinda wrote the lyrics. The Time Has No Time is me. Yan and I have gone back and forth over time and its ultra cool that the web works this way. Nice fellow and he let me know you liked it. So from North New Jersey I’m saying hi. Hi.

Leave a Reply

