You Can’t

Singer songwriter Siren Patti Witten has done it again. With You Can’t she’s written another song that give me goosebumps and makes me want to write a novel.

I really did do that after hearing her song Obvious. I’ve only completed the first draft of the YA manuscript so far, but when I tell you her song inspired me to write a book, I mean it. Obvious was the jumping off point, and then I asked, what if . . . and came out with a couple hundred pages. That’s . . . a lot of inspiration. You can read a previous Sirenstories post about Patti Witten and hear the song Obvious here. I’ve listened to the track dozens and dozens of times.

Patti Witten had this to say about her song You Can’t:

You Can’t is a sad-sweet, mysterious lament about girls and boys, family and romance, similar to Paul McCartney’s “Junk.” It incorporates clips from family home recordings of little girls singing “the farmer in the dell,” telling a story, whispered lyrics, studio out-takes, and ends with a lonely ringing telephone.”

In other words, it will give you chills, and make you want to hear more from Patti Witten.

One response to “You Can’t

Leave a Reply

