Push to Start

Starranko

When I heard the opening keyboard arpeggios of Push to Start by Domingos Muekalia Jr. aka Starranko I instantly fell in love with the song. Amazing what a few notes can do. Yep, I was already hooked before The Hook, the lyrical hook, even started.

The vocal has yet another melodic line behind it that I love almost as much as the first one. It’s reminiscent of an old New Order melody. Need I say more?

Eminem’s 8 Mile—the movie and the record—R. Kelly, Kanya West . . . rap artists amaze me. The sheer amount of words they use blows me away, as does the gymnastic phrasing common to so many of their songs.

It’s the subtle phrasing of some of the lyrics in Push to Start that made me want to listen to the song over and over. Just the way Starranko says, “Push to Start”, the slight bend to the words, that little bit of curve—that’s what I love, that’s what’s irresistible to me. And the story behind Push to Start is just as vital. Domingos Muekalia told me,

“The inspiration for the song came over this past summer when I was going to quit making music. But when I went over to Portugal to visit my family I felt this strong connection with music and the country as a whole and felt a rebirth. As I was over there I had the beat with me and began writing lyrics to it and kind of just went from there.”

Starranko I’m so glad you didn’t quit music, and I’m just going to say something to you and all the writers and musicians reading this—

Never give up.

You may need new inspiration, but that’s not hard to find. Just come here. Or look out your window. Or in your journal. Watch a movie.

Whatever it takes. As an encouraging editor once said to me, KEEP GOING.

Domingos Muekalia Jr. was born and raised in Falls Church, VA and says he has “a burning passion for music of all genres, except country—sorry that I’m not sorry about that.” He’s been inspired by Michael Jackson, Kanye West, Nirvana, Jay Z, Tupac, Biggie, Eminiem, and Radiohead. He says he “tries to blend different genres and sounds into a unique style that is all my own.” He succeeds.

So go ahead. Push to start.

We pull up off the lot where that button at?
It’s Push to Start!
Haters talkin shit wanna put a bullet in my heart
We pull up off the lot where that button at?
it’s push to start!
Haters talkin shit, wanna put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
These haters talking shit wanna put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
These haters talking shit
wanna put a bullet in my heart!

Bro I got tenacity coupled by veracity that gave me the audacity to make my own odd ass city
You still with me come and get me, you know life ain’t really fair wanna have a nightmare ight then I’ll take you there
Now you see who I be skinnier B.I.G.
May as well be waldo y’all can’t even find me!
Come try me I’ll lay you down kindly
career need an I.V.
bitch stay hiding
Rap like an M4 or semi automatic
slow down the flow to make this shit more dramatic
Put this on my life i be killin every stanza
you’ll see who’s the boss but I am not tony danza
Yeah I be the man huh?
niggaz know the plan duh
takin over the game so put that in your planner
See so many pigs got me feel in like an angry bird
catapulting to the top with like each and every word
clearing every hurdle
flowing like I’m squirtle
I’m a strain on your brain like a mental girdle
Deck your halls with my balls
I’m join balls to walls
with the beast of music sheets yeah we came from churches falls
paint it black very vivid like a picture
only thing that got more verses is the holy scripture
yeah take a picture swag gin every day just
know I got the most art call me Amadeus

Hook: We pull up off the lot where that button at?
It’s Push to Start!
Haters talkin shit wanna put a bullet in my heart
We pull up off the lot where that button at?
it’s push to start!
Haters talkin shit, wanna put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
These haters talking shit wanna put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
put a bullet in my heart
These haters talking shit
wanna put a bullet in my heart!

When I rap like this niggaz cease to exist
but they can find peace in the other haters midst
when I rhyme and rip mothafuckas gonna trip
like they got two feet “that’s some clever shit”
Cuz my thoughts stay full in the spot where we mobbin
pull up on a nigga like he Christopher Robin
No change, I only carry bills
Competition’s alive, I’d rather kill they’re wills
Gawddamn I am who I am
if you don’t like that then run and tell the man
but this is my time nigga welcome to my avenue
wealth and good health are the only things that I accrue
Im just a nigga certified as certifiable
bring the fight to you it dont matter if Im liable
Lord like Tolkien Rings like Jordan
wanna duke it out mothatfucka bring the sword then

Star3
Click the pic to go to find Starranko on iTunes. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

